Today was week 3 of gaining.  I’m up three pounds since before vacation, which isn’t terrible, but I’m trying to lose!  This weekend was tough with lots of food I normally don’t eat.  Carbs seem to be the biggest offender.  I often say “I can look at a piece of bread and gain weight”.  I’m feeling more and more that that’s the truth.  Plus 3 nights of ice cream for dessert doesn’t help.

Today is my restart.  It seems appropriate with summer ending and the school year starting.  I focused on doing what I know works for me.

  • Eat a filling breakfast
  • Bring in a prepared lunch
  • Have fruit and/or vegetables at each meal or snack
  • Have carrots and hummus for my afternoon snack

I did each of these today and came in just a smidge over my 1200 calorie goal for the day and I didn’t feel hungry at all.  Plus I did 30 minutes of cardio and Katie’s BodyPump class.  It was a great day all around.

Dinner was my take on McKenzie’s Mediteranean Salad, my all time favorite salad to have at a restaurant.  I could eat it every day….seriously!

1 head of leaf lettuce (courtesy of my CSA harvest)

1 green bell pepper (to replace the cucumbers since I was out of them)

2 scallion stems chopped

tomato slices (I love tomato, so I put in 2 whole tomatos)

Sprinkle of Feta Cheese

2 hard boiled eggs

Freshly cooked beets (also from my CSA harvest…YUM!!!!)

Croutons for some crunch

I also had 2 Marco Polo rolls leftover (from Wegmans of course- only Collegeville sells them), so I sliced them up and drizzled a little olive oil and salt/pepper on them to make crostini.  I just put them on a tray and put them in the oven at 350* for 20 minutes to crisp them up.  I sprinkled just a bit of parmesan cheese on them and popped them back in the oven for 5 minutes to melt.  If I made these again, I wouldn’t cook them as long because they definately were very crunchy and crispy, but still delicious.

