Today I joined the Kimberton CSA (Community Sponsored Agriculture).  I’ve been wanting to find a way to try to vegetables without breaking the bank and get local veggies.  We haven’t been able to take advantage of our farmers market in Phoenixville and I was just tired of buying the same old thing at Wegmans.  I think this was a great decision to join.  The farm itself is so neat.  They have pick your own areas for flowers, hot peppers, certain types of tomatoes, okra….I know there’s more, but I can’t remember.

They have these “take what you need” tables full of herbs and whatever they have a ton of that week.  Today they had 4 huge cartons of basil, omigosh, the room smelled amazing!!!  They had celery, parsley, escarole, and some greens too.  I did my “share” and then took a little bit of each from the “take what you need” table and headed outside.  The farmer, Erik, told me about how they have events on the weekends for the people in the CSA.  There were a bunch of people with kids there today just running around the farm.  It was pretty cool.

I can’t wait to learn some recipes and enjoy new vegetables in the process.  I’ll be sure to share!!!

