I’ve been bored with just basic zucchini recipes, so I thought I’d try something I saw online where you slice the zucchini in ribbons using a peeler.  Make sure you buy small zucchini to make the peeling easier.  I paired this with grilled chicken marinated in white balsamic vinegarette dressing and a small salad.  Joe couldn’t wait to try this new dressing I bought at the grocery store today, so he requested I make a salad.   ALso, I’ve been hungry all day and came home from personal training with Katie with a grumbling stomach.

 

Zucchini Ribbons with Tomatoes

4 servings ~ 70 calories per serving

Ingredients

2 zucchini cut in ribbons with a peeler

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp minced garlic (or as much as you prefer)

10 cherry/grape tomatoes sliced in half

2 tbsp shredded parmesan cheese

 Instructions

Heat the olive oil in a medium-sized pan and add the garlic.  Saute the garlic for a few minutes and add the zucchini ribbons, tossing with tongs to coat with the garlic/oil mixture.  Continue to toss until zucchini warms and appears to be tender.  Add the halved tomatoes and cook another minute or two.  Transfer to serving dish using the tongs since this produces a lot of liquid when cooked.  Top with shredded parmesan cheese.

 

