We spent Saturday moving one of my friends and Joe fell asleep on the couch for about 3 hours when we got home, so I was able to pull together a really nice meal and not worry about how long it took to cook.   I made cheeseburger sliders with Joe’s favorite roll (Martin’s Potato Rolls) and “Baked Tomatoes, Squash, and Potatoes”.

A friend of mine made this for Joe and I when we visited for dinner over a year ago and it was one of the best side dishes I’ve ever had.  The recipe was only posted to Whole Living’s website in September 2011 and, thanks to Pintrest, I finally found it!!!   Since it takes well over an hour to make from start to finish, I figured this would be a great time to test out the recipe on my own.

I used a pie dish thinking it would be the right size for the potato, tomato, and squash I had sliced, but as I started filling the dish, it quickly ran out of room.  I would recommend the 9×13 dish they mention in the recipe.  I think it would allow everything to cook quicker.  When I made it in the pie dish, it took nearly 90 minutes instead of 60 minutes to cook.

6 Servings ~ 91 Calories per serving

Ingredients

  •                                         2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for drizzling
  •                                         1 onion, thinly sliced
  •                                         2 small tomatoes, sliced 1/4-inch thick
  •                                         1 medium yellow summer squash, sliced 1/4-inch thick
  •                                         1 medium Yukon Gold potato, sliced 1/4-inch thick
  •                                         Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  •                                         1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves
  •                                         2 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 375 degrees. Heat oil over medium and cook onion until tender and lightly golden, 6 to 8 minutes.
  2. Arrange the onion on the bottom of a 9-by-13-inch baking dish. Overlap tomato, squash, and potato on top of the onion. Season with salt and pepper, sprinkle with thyme and Parmesan, and drizzle with more oil.
  3. Bake covered for 30 minutes. Uncover and bake until golden, 30 minutes more.
