I’ve been looking for a good make ahead breakfast recipe and haven’t been very successful….until now.  These Insanely Good Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins from skinnytaste live up to their namesake.  I had to distract myself with sorting laundry to stop myself from opening the oven door every few minutes to check on them because even the batter smelled delicious.  These do not disappoint and are worth the extra 30 minutes you have to wait to let the quick oats soak.  My only frustration is that they stuck to my paper wrappers.

The recipe made 12 regular size muffins and 10 mini-muffins when I made them.  My only deviation from the original recipe is that I had no brown sugar.  I used 1/2 white sugar and added a tbsp of maple syrup.  Thank you Google!

Skinnytaste’s Insanely Good Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

12 muffins = 127 calories

  • 1 1/2 cups Quaker quick oatmeal
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk (or skim milk) I used skim milk
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed, or 1/2 cup white sugar + 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp agave (or sugar, honey) I used honey
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  • baking spray

Preheat oven to 400°. Line a muffin tin with liners and lightly spray with oil.  Now I realize I forgot to spray the paperliners with the cooking spray!
Place oats in a food processor or chopper and pulse a few times. Soak oats in milk for about 30 minutes.

In a medium bowl combine brown sugar, agave, apple sauce, vanilla, egg whites, oil and mix well. 

In a third bowl combine whole wheat flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and whisk to combine.

Combine oats and milk with sugar, applesauce mixture and mix well. Slowly add in the dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated. Fold in blueberries.

Spoon into the muffin tin and bake for 22-24 minutes.

