In honor of Joe being done with his summer class today, I decided to make him a meal I know he loves.  Ever since I started my healthy lifestyle, we haven’t ordered chinese food which is one of his absolute favorite things to eat.  He’ll have it if I’m out of town, but never do we order it together.  I had been looking for something I could make healthy and still enjoy chinese food.  I stumbled across this recipe on TheWayToHisHeart .  I stick with the recipe because it’s pretty darn good!  I use brown rice and top it with the sesame chicken.  The first time I made it, I didn’t have sesame seeds, but I splurged and bought some.  Believe it or not, the sesame seeds make it even better!   Enjoy!!!

Healthy Sesame Chicken

4 servings – 252 calories per serving (does not include the brown rice)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unbleached flour or 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp ground black pepper
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breast halves, cut into medium sized pieces
  • 1/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce, use less if you have a sensitivity to salt
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp dark sesame oil
  • 2 Tbsp sesame seeds, toasted
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh scallions (both green and white)

In a gallon-size plastic bag, combine flour, salt, and pepper. Add chicken, seal bag, and shake well to coat.

Coat a large nonstick skillet with nonstick spray and warm over medium-high heat. Add chicken to skilllet and cook, stirring, for 3 to 4 minutes, or until no longer pink. Transfer to a plate.

Reduce heat to medium. Combine soy sauce and sugar in skillet. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the sugar dissolves, about 1 to 2 minutes max. Add sesame oil and sesame seeds. Add chicken and scallion. Toss and serve immediately.

