This is one of my favorite recipes to make for lunch.  It’s quick to make on a sunday evening and I can get an entire week’s worth of lunches out of the recipe.  I came across this on the Skinnytaste website and put my own spin on it.   The boullion mentioned in her recipe didn’t work out for me.  My rice took even longer to cook and came out mushy.

Nutrition:

5 servings.  Heaping one cup servings for 222 calories per serving

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked brown rice

2 cups water (to cook rice in)

1 pound Turkey sausage (I use mild from Wegmans)

1-2 Yellow onion chopped (depending on size of onion and how much onion you like)

4 stalks celery

2 large carrots chopped (or you can use baby carrots)

8 oz. package baby bella mushrooms (any mushrooms will work though)

Instructions:

To cook the brown rice, put the rice and water in a pot.  Bring to a boil, cover and reduce heat to simmer or low.  Cook for 35-40 minutes until all of the water is absorbed.

While the rice is cooking, remove the casings from the sausages and break up into smaller pieces to brown in a frying pan.  While the sausage is browning, chop the onion, celery, and carrots.  Add to pan so they use the oil from the sausage to brown and absorb the flavors from the sausage.  Add the mushrooms and continue to cook until soft.

Once the rice is finished cooking, mix with the ingredients in the frying pan.  Depending on the size of your pan, you may have to mix in a bowl instead.

I take this for lunch and scoop out a heaping cup of the mixture per serving and put it into tupperware containers.  It makes 5 days worth of lunches.  It has just enough protein, fiber, and veggies to keep me full until after work.

