Hello friends and family!!!

This my first blog entry ever.  As many of you know, I have been losing weight for the past 10 months and am up to 60 pounds lost!!  Woohoo!  You’d think I’d be more excited about this, but the 10 pounds to take me from 50 to 60 pounds lost took what seemed like forever to lose and I’ve been rather frustrated.  I’ve been working to motivate myself to break through this challenging time.

A week or so ago, I talked with my health coach, Amanda, about my frustrations, and she reminded me of how successful I’ve been.  Whenever I talk to her, I tend to start many of my sentences with “This time……” or “The last time I lost weight…..”  and she asked me during this conversation, “what has made “This time” the time that has stuck with you?”  I truly believe for a person to change an integral part of who they are, the time to change has to be the “right time” for change.  Somehow the stars aligned in August 2011 and I decided I was not going to keep hurting myself by not taking care of myself.  To save you all the details (my nickname is Chatty Cathy for a reason), I started working with a personal trainer once a week and started really understanding why nutrition was important.  The outpouring of support from my friends and family as I once again decided I was going to “get this weight off of me” was more than I had ever received before.  Not only had I changed in being ready to commit to this change in my life, but the people closest to me knew that this time was going to be the time I was successful with my weight-loss and they helped me in any way they could.

Back to my conversation with Amanda…..by the end of our conversation, she suggested I write about my journey.  I love talking about what has worked for me and I certainly know what works for me isn’t going to work for everyone, but I love being able to share what could work for the person I’m talking to.   I was inspired by a friend’s weight-loss blog to go this route in sharing my story and what has allowed me to have my greatest success.  While I don’t quite have her fearlessness of sharing a picture of my scale from my weekly weigh in, I do promise to share lots of recipes and will continue to share the excitement and satisfaction I’ve found with maintaining a healthy lifestyle while doing something I love-cooking for my family and friends.

